## College News

School of Counseling Master's Student Dioswal Cook, a Akron '30 for the Future' Award Recipient



Among the 2019 Greater Akron Chamber "30 for the Future" young professionals being recognized as emerging leaders is our own **Dioswal Cook**.

Cook, who is now working toward a master's degree at her alma mater in clinical mental health counseling, is active in the community as well. She is a member of Chi Sigma Iota, International Counseling Honors Society; ATHENA Akron, Connecting Women Leaders in Akron; the Ohio Counseling Association and the American Counseling Association.

Now in its 13<sup>th</sup> year, the "30 for the Future" award is part of chamber's strategy to attract and retain talent. This year's recipients range in age from 25 to 39 and were nominated by members of the chamber and nonprofit organizations. Independent committees considered the professional accomplishments, examples of leadership and community service of each nominee to choose the honorees.

Cook joined UA in 2017, but her connection here began much earlier. "I am a former Strive Toward Excellence Program (STEP) 'kid', which I began in 2004," she recalls. "Afterward, I progressed to the Upward Bound Math and Science Program in high school and then went on to receive my Bachelor's of Arts in Psychology from UA in 2014."

In her role with Choose Ohio First, Cook plans and conducts extensive recruiting activities at designated secondary schools and college fairs. She advises prospective students and others regarding program offerings and admissions requirements. "I help to guide students in achieving their educational goals by offering support," she explains. "In addition to this, I help to establish and build relationships with internal and external partners."

"I am absolutely thrilled and honored to have received this award," says Cook. "I look forward to learning more about how I can continue to better serve the Greater Akron Community at large, while at the same time advancing the mission of The University of Akron."

Recipients will be recognized Thursday, Sept. 19, at a ceremony at The NEW Center at Northeast Ohio Medical University.